Angry Birds Birthday Cake

I have never worked with fondant before but since most of the cakes I saw online with Angry Birds that looked good were decorated with it so I decided to give it a shot.

I made a practice cake that was small just to test out my fondant skills.  It was a disaster.  I didn’t decorate it…I just wanted to see if I could actually roll it out.  They always make it look so easy on TV!

I found a better marshmallow fondant recipe and more supportive cake recipe and decided to try again.  The baked cakes turned out perfect and the icing and filling was a breeze.  I was feeling so confidant.  I made the fondant and kneeded in all the colors I would need to decorate the cake.  I had read a tip to wear gloves during this part and I’m sure glad I did.  What a mess.  Soon I had all my beautiful little balls of wrapped up fondant all ready to go.

I started to decorate the cake and was feeling pretty smug untill I actually had to roll out the fondant.  Sadly my fondant ended up being a bit dry but at least now I know and can fix it before hand next time…. if I ever decided there is a next time.  Lucky for me most of the cake would end up covered with decorations anyway.  After 4 hours of decorating and making a complete disaster in my kitchen I finished Deeds birthday cake.  It is now sitting in a box so he can’t see it before his party.  I realize now I forgot to give all the poor pigs eyebrows but hey, they laugh all mean when you don’t get them in the game so maybe this is pay back.

I got inspiration for a lot of the ideas for the cake from one I had seen online but couldn’t trace find out who actually did it and only had one small picture to go by.  I had to add a couple of things that I knew Deeds would ask about.  The helmet piggie is one of his favorite and also the black bird.

Can you tell what it is yet?

All in all I’m so glad it’s all done and ready for his party.  I never thought it would turn out so cute.  Sure was a lot of work especially compared to the easy peezy ninja turtle from last year!  Heaven help me, I think I’ve set the bar too high for future birthdays with this cake.

About Bobbie

I am a PPCM survivor, full-time nursing student, special needs mom, massage therapist, and totally awesome wife. Welcome to our crazy-wonderful version of normal.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Melodie Gingras

    Angry Birds I love playing that game with my grandson. You did a beautiful job on decorating the cake Bobbie. Deeds is so lucky to have a mom like you that knows how to please his inner spirit.

  2. That cake is amazing! Great job. I have always been interested in trying fondant. How did u get all the shapes of characters and clouds so perfect?

    • I used small cookie cutters and for the whites of the small eyes I used for tip of a large circle icing tip to cut them. The clouds are actually from flower cookie cutters.

  3. Adorable Bobbie! I bet Deeds loved it! I’m very impressed!

  4. That cake is adorable, and very well done! it looks so professional! You should show this to him, he might like it! As long as he knows it isn’t his cake that is lol, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smlQs8d4hx8

Leave a comment